Week 12 -: GSOC'23 With LibreHealth

Week 12 -: GSOC'23 With LibreHealth

ยท

3 min read

In this blog series, I will be sharing my experiences, challenges, and achievements as I embark on this GSOC adventure. Join me as I dive into Week 12, where I kickstart my work and make significant strides toward my project goals.

How the week started ๐Ÿ“ˆ

  • The weekend started with me trying to implement the functionality of long polling in the messaging section of the NeoRoo application. My mentor had given me a repository link that had previously implemented the functionality of messaging functionality through the dhis2 messaging API.

  • I tried to figure out how to implement the long polling functionality but was unable to completely replicate what had been implemented in the repository.

  • Later I came across the technology of server-side events (SSE) but unfortunately, this feature was not available in the Sse package for Android and ios devices.

  • Then I tried the functionality of implementing the WebSocket functionality with the dhis2 server but the dhis2 does not support a websocket-like connection.

  • Later I added the feature that the chatroom would poll the chatroom after every 10 seconds to fetch the chats of that room.

  • In the later art of the week, I implemented the feature of adding the user to the dhis2 server using the NeoRoo app only, and for that, I used the user API of the dhis2.


Wednesday 10 am est I had the weekly meeting with my mentors and we discussed how we should proceed with the project.

  • In this week's meeting, I got better clarity from my mentor about how to implement the QR Code functionality and what workflow would be used in this process.

  • I was told to generate QR Code for every infant on the caregiver application and then once the QR code is been generated that QR code would be scanned by the family member.

  • I also got an appreciation from my mentor for the contributions that I made and my mentors appreciated the code quality that I had.


Things I Coded and the Problems It Solves ๐Ÿง‘โ€๐Ÿ’ป

  • Made the chat room dynamic. This would help the user to connect to the caregivers on a regular real-time basis and would help them to take timely actions that would be in favor of the infant.

  • Created the functionality of adding users from the NeoRoo application. Though this functionality still has to be integrated with the QR Code functionality which I would be doing next week.


Contributions of the Week:

Issue -: Feature to register User on Dhis2 server from NeoRoo application.

Related Merge Request -: Fixes #81, #92 Functionality to establish communication feature between the family member of infant and the medical staff.


Upcoming week: A Focus on QR Code and Test Cases.

Looking ahead to the next week, I have a clear plan of action to continue advancing the project. Here are the key tasks I aim to accomplish:

  • Next, I will be focusing on developing a feature to generate a QR code. Upon scanning the QR code, users will be able to create their accounts on the DHIS2 server.

  • With the GSOC coming to an end it's time to wrap things up and write test cases for the functions that I had created. So would be writing some test cases using mokito.

By working on these tasks, I aim to further enhance the NeoRoo program, providing users with a comprehensive and user-friendly application that effectively meets their needs.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Mehul Kumar by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!

ย